Visa Information

Students from EU countries  Students from the EU (plus Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland) are exempt from student visa requirements 
Students from countries outside the EU  Once you have been accepted for studies at Masaryk University, you will have to turn to the local Czech embassy or consulate: the Czech Republic, like most other countries, requires foreign students studying in the country to have a student visa. Possession of a student visa is a condition for studying at Masaryk University. 
Students living in the EU countries but originally from outside the EU  The same procedure as for students from countries outside the EU. You are obliged to apply for a visa to study in the Czech Republic (even though you have a residence permit in one of the European countries). If you are a holder of a long-term residence permit in an E.U. country you can submit your visa application in one of the Czech regional visa centres (see the section Documents).


Useful Websites:

Before Arrival

Students with a long-term visa / residence permit application requirements HERE
Students coming from the EU
(plus Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland)
no need for a visa

You can double-check your application status at Czech Ministry of Interior web pages at

Due to a change in law, all foreigners (staying more than 90 days in the Czech Republic) are required to purchase Czech medical travel insurance only with the Czech insurance company, VZP Insurance. It complies with Czech legal requirements. See more details at Travel medical insurance overview.

You might be asked to submit an insurance contract and a confirmation of payment before the visa sticker/stamp is added to your passport. Please read more information about travel medical insurance.

Top  ▲

Academic calendar

Academic calendar

International student guide

International student guide

Academic calendar

Course catalogue

Android app

Get Android or iOS app: Navigation through MU